Skip to content

June 21, 2011

1

Standing Up for the Godless Bus Ads

by juju2112

I’m light on content this week, due to my trip to Dallas last weekend. I normally do my writing on the weekends. I did get a letter to the editor posted in the newspaper last week, though. I’ve reposted my letter below for those who are interested:

A federal lawsuit was filed recently because the Little Rock Transit Authority rejected the Coalition of Reason’s “Good Without God” ad. They said that it was too controversial and would probably just be vandalized.

I am an atheist. All this ad says is that you can be a good person without believing in God.

Why is that so controversial?

Why is me saying that I’m a moral person so offensive that it would drive people to vandalism?

I am an Arkansan. I am your neighbor. I am a good and moral person. If that offends you, I think you should re-examine your beliefs. I’m not leaving Arkansas.

I’m not leaving the country. I am here to stay.

I’m a nice guy … really.

That last bit was a subtle jab at the guy who wrote in a couple weeks ago saying atheists should move to Russia or China. I’m curious if anyone will call me out as a bad person. I don’t think they will. I think this myth only exists when atheists aren’t visible as real people.

Read more from What's the Harm?
1 Comment Post a comment
  1. Aug 11 2011

    “I’m curious if anyone will call me out as a bad person. I don’t think they will. I think this myth only exists when atheists aren’t visible as real people.”

    Exactly! I like what one non-theist group, you told me about, did. Puting up a picture of an atheist giving a quote. I like that. It puts a human face on atheism and tells them that we say good stuff, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

