Skip to content

November 19, 2011

2

Skepticon IV: Day 1

by juju2112

20111119-022858.jpg

I’ve spent the last several years trying to build a good group of atheists in my small community. I’m not an activist. I just want to be able to talk to people without having to walk on eggshells all the time. I want to speak my mind and have it be okay, even if my friends disagree with what I say. I’m done with taboo subjects.

So, it’s been especially rewarding and therapeutic to spend the weekend with my friends and the hundreds of other atheists at the Skepticon conference. I find myself making obscure jokes to my friends, and strangers standing next to us will laugh and join in on the conversation. It’s great to feel like I’m part of a community, rather than some ostracized freak.

20111119-030815.jpg

The Creation Museum was fun, even if it was just a rinky-dink hole-in-the-wall. I’m not sure dinosaur toys and a projector in the back room really qualifies as a museum. Those poor people probably didn’t know what to think. The little snippets of conversation I keep hearing at this convention are priceless. I heard the following at the museum:

Creationist: “If you just studied genetics, you’d see it was true”.

Skepticon attendee: “Actually, I am a geneticist.”

Creationist: “Well! Good for you. Congratulations.”

Holy crap, I just about died. Man, I wish I could listen in on every conversation. Lots of interesting people here.

We also were treated to a screening of the movie Give A Damn. I have to give respect to the guys in this film. As someone who typically never gives a damn, this movie made me question that.

Afterwards, my friends and I joined the convention crowd at Farmer’s Gastropub and talked late into the night.

To everyone in attendance, thanks for making me feel like a part of something. And to everyone not in attendance, wish you were here.

20111119-025905.jpg

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Nov 19 2011

    I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying Skepticon. I’m a pretty socially anxious person and Skepticon is one of the few places I can flit about like a social butterfly. Plus, rubber dinosaur dioramas! You can’t lose!

    Reply
  2. Michael McAlexander
    Nov 19 2011

    Great post Donald. No need to walk on eggshells here. Glad you are rethinking apathy as an accepted character trait. I need to see that movie, not because I’m apathetic but for the experience and insight.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

